Critically ill patients are often placed in the ICU or intensive care unit to recover. Common people fear and complain about critical care.

Dr Asif Iqbal, a Critical Care Specialist, talked about the need for ICU to save life of critical patients.

A critical care unit of a hospital has various life support systems to deal with any physical crisis of the patient. Apart from critical care specialist doctors and nurses, every paramedical staff is also specially trained. They keep an eye on the patient all the time. Take appropriate action if necessary. In addition to continuously monitoring the heart rate, oxygen content in the body, and breathing conditions, all kinds of support are provided immediately in case of any problem.

No long stay in ICU to rack up bills

Private hospitals keep admissions in ICU to increase the bill due to complaints from common people. This idea is baseless. Firstly, the number of ICCU beds is not enough compared to patients. So no patient is kept in critical care unless necessary. It does not benefit the hospital at all. In this context, let me remind you that the ICCU was in dire need of beds during the COVID-19 epidemic. ICCU has a revenue formula, technically called ARPOB. It stands for the Average Revenue Per Occupied Bed Formula. According to this formula, more revenue is generated in the first 3 days in the ICU. So there is no question of profit for the private hospital if the patient is kept in the ICU for an extra day. In this context, it can be said that the more unconscious the patient becomes, the hourly cost increases, but the probability of recovery does not increase accordingly. In critical care medical services, health workers and specialist doctors are deployed 24 hours a day after a patient. The value of these skilled human resources is considerable. In addition, ICCU costs are high as life-saving drugs and necessary tests are costly. So everyone should have health insurance. Remember that every doctor wants to send the patient home well. Trust the doctor, stay well

Q.1 What are the Four Types of ICU?

Ans.)Intensive care units were grouped into 4 types:

  • Medical including coronary care.
  • Surgical including trauma and cardiovascular.
  • Neonatal and pediatric.
  • MedicalSurgical

Types of Intensive Care Units

Intensive care is usually provided in a specialized unit of a hospital called the intensive care unit (ICU) or critical care unit (CCU). Many hospitals also have designated intensive care areas for certain specialities of medicine. The naming is not rigidly standardized, and the types of units are dictated by the needs and available resources of each hospital. These include:

  • coronary intensive care unit (CCU or sometimes CICU) for heart disease
  • medical intensive care unit (MICU)
  • surgical intensive care unit (SICU)
  • pediatric intensive care unit (PICU)
  • Neuroscience Critical Care Unit(NCCU)
  • overnight intensive-recovery (OIR)
  • shock/trauma intensive-care unit (STICU)
  • Neonatal Intensive Care Unit(NICU)
  • ICU in the emergency department (E-ICU)